Boot recommendations for TTS-setup (Moonlight Pure tele)

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
reborntelemark
Ski style: Telemark

Boot recommendations for TTS-setup (Moonlight Pure tele)

Post by reborntelemark » Wed Apr 10, 2024 5:00 am

Looking for advice on new telemark boots among the experienced telemarkers out there.

I have been telemarking for many years and started my "career" with old Atomic mountain skis with leather boots in the late 80s. I skied a lot in the ski resorts until 2003, got tired of my nearby ski resorts and have had a long break (still touring the mountains). My current gear dates back to 2000 and its time level up!

I am in the middle of that process.

STEP 1: Completed.
I have recently bought new mountain skis, bindings and boots for up/down trips in the mountains (25km +) and light summit trips. It works perfectly!!! Åsnes Falketind 62 xplore, Xplore bindings and Alfa Skaget leather boots: Easy to walk with good control on simple terrain. I have used these for a season and have good control under bad conditions up to about a 25-degree slope: It is the shoe that sets the limits.

STEP 2: In process.
I have already started this process and bought nicely used skis and bindings that are suitable both in the ski resort and for mountain trips where the descent is the main focus or the slopes are steeper than what the Xplore equipment can handle. I landed with the Moonlight Pure tele (TTS) bindings and the skies that came along is Dynastar Cham 2.0 87.

I choosed these bindings based on my background from 75mm Rottefella Chili bindings (with plates) and want something just as simple. NTN seems to be overcomplicated. Also, TTS can be tuned to give me the 75mm feel or tuned towards NTN performance if I like. And a free tech toe are better for touring - I love the mountains!!