Comparison of Falketind 62 and Rabb 68 (+thoughts on Alfa Free, flexors)

Real reviews by real skiers. What a concept! Add your own today. Reviews only please, questions can be posted as replies but new threads looking for opinions should be posted to the main Telemark Talk Forum.
telemarius
Ski style: XC track skiing, Telerando
Favorite Skis: Åsnes Rabb || Madshus Nanosonic
Favorite boots: Alfa Free || Madshus Nano Carbon Pursuit

Comparison of Falketind 62 and Rabb 68 (+thoughts on Alfa Free, flexors)

Post by telemarius » Tue Mar 22, 2022 4:20 pm

Hi all,

I was able to test the two back-to-back for some runs. This will just be some initial impressions. Let me start by saying that I have limited experience with other mountain-/downhill skis. My opinions are my own, you may feel different and your milage my vary. That said, I’ve skied XC track skiing actively for 20 years. I have good balance, technique, and endurance. I’m still new to the backcountry/downhill game, but I hope my experience can let me describe the differences in feel between the skis.
IMG_20220322_172028.jpg
Upper ski: Falketind 62 188cm. Bottom ski: Rabb 68 188cm. Both with Rottefella Xplore binding
So, the Falketind 62 (FT) and the Rabb 68 (R). Both 2022 models, tuned with the Rottefella Xplore system in mind. Let’s start by agreeing that, yes, the skis are different. The FT are better for kick and glide (K&G). The R are better downhill. But, in both cases the word “just” springs to mind. Just better at K&G. Just better at downhill. Ultimately, the skis feel and act very similar. This surprised me, as I expected the skis characteristics to be quite different.

The conditions were old, grainy, and wet snow on a sunny, mild day (+4C), also with some hardpacked, icy trails. I skied both pairs at 188cm length, which is the Åsnes recommended for my 186cm height (and, I’d assume, my 80kg in-shower-weight). I used my newly purchased Alfa Frees, with both the normal and the hard flexors.