Ski recommendations for a pulk hauling heavy Finn

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
V-Taper

Ski recommendations for a pulk hauling heavy Finn

Post by V-Taper » Sat Mar 13, 2021 6:01 pm

Hello from Finland! Just found this gem of a forum. I'm a newbie on what comes to backcountry skiing outside groomed tracks. I only have a couple of 3 - 4 day trips with old and heavy (210 cm long / 70 mm wide) waxless Karhu "army skis" under my belt. Now we are planning a 5 - 6 day backcountry trip to the fjells of northernmost Finland. It will be a hilly treeless landscape. We are expecting mostly windswept packed snow, but conditions may change quickly there. I'm going to drag a pulk weighing about 70 lbs. I'm a stocky guy at 5'10" / 240 lbs.

Could you help me to choose most optimal equipment? I'm planning to purchase Alpina Alaska BC boots, Rottafella NNN BC bindings and Åsnes Nansen 2-part poles. For the skis I have several options, with limited length choices:

1) Åsnes Gamme 54 @ 210 cm
2) Åsnes Ingstad @ 195 cm
3) Åsnes Nansen @ 195 cm
4) Åsnes Amundsen Fram Waxless @ 201 or 208 cm

My ski dealer recommended Ingstad for added flotation and better handling (shorter ski) on downhills. But what I gather from this forum is that for touring trips (especially with sled) longer and skinnier skis (i.e. Gamme or Amundsen) would be better. Right now I'm leaning towards Gammes and I guess the 210 cm length would be a good fit for me. What do you think?

lilcliffy
Ski style: backcountry Nordic ski touring
Favorite Skis: Asnes Ingstad, Combat Nato, Amundsen, Rabb 68; Altai Kom
Favorite boots: Alpina Alaska BC; Lundhags Expedition; Alfa Skaget XP; Scarpa T4
Instructor at Maritime College of Forest Technology
Husband, father, farmer and logger

Re: Ski recommendations for a pulk hauling heavy Finn