Beginner-ish seeking Boot advice sz 42 md 27 or 26.5

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
Urban-tele-try
Ski style: Expert alpine downhiller, tele newbie

Beginner-ish seeking Boot advice sz 42 md 27 or 26.5

Post by Urban-tele-try » Tue Feb 09, 2021 5:47 pm

Hello brain trust! I've been lurking here and I'd like to ask for boot advice. I need 75mm boots to complete my Beginner-ish telemark setup. I'm an expert downhill skier. I'm a beginner telemark skier. I want one set of skis and boots to: cross country ski thru golf courses and trails, but I also really want to make downhill turns if I'm in hills. I want to continue to learn telemark at ski resorts using lift service on groomed runs too.

I know Scarpa T4 would be good for me and hope to find an affordable used pair. Would something like these older maroon Garmont boots be appropriate for what I want to do? https://sidelineswap.com/gear/skiing/bo ... ize-8-5-ah

Or this pair of Garmont Firepower Gara? https://www.ebay.com/itm/Garmont-Gara-F ... 890.l49292

Basically I want to be able to climb up gentle hills and telemark down. I've had telemark equipment before but only used it a few times and only resorts using chair lifts. I loved it and want to get better at it.

Here is my situation: I'm looking for a turns-orientated yet also kick & glide friendly 75mm 3-pin boot. I want to buy used and under $200.

My BINDINGS: Voile 3-Pin 75mm Cable Telemark Bindings with risers (similar to Traverse risers but without climbing bail wire).

My SKIS: New 2020 bare Alpina Discovery Backcountry 68. Waxless fish scale, full metal edges. Length: 180cm. Ski Dimensions: 68mm, 60mm, 65mm.
Last edited by Urban-tele-try on Tue Feb 09, 2021 6:36 pm, edited 7 times in total.

Urban-tele-try

Re: Beginner-ish seeking Boot advice sz 42 md 27 or 26.5