Size and Ski Question

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
ianjt

Size and Ski Question

Post by ianjt » Sun Dec 29, 2019 5:56 pm

Greetings. I have been sleuthing through these forums for the past week gathering advice on my first upcoming “backcountry nordic” purchase. lots of good information here. I was hoping for specific advice regarding my purchase.

Background:

I am 6’ 4” and weigh 185. I have 48-49 feet, depending on the brand. I am a firefighter in Idaho during the summer, and I have been looking into nordic bc skiing to scratch my outdoorsy itch during the winter. I don’t want any crazy steep descents, but I’d like to tour around off trail in central Idaho. I’m interested in fun descents, but nothing like alpine touring. I plan to do maybe some groomed trails/logging roads, but mostly out the back door in powder.

I am pretty settled on Fischer BCX 6 boots, but I will order Alpina Alaska’s in hopes that I might fit in them. I suspect that I won’t, from what I’ve read.

I like NNNBC bindings, but I wonder if the 3 pin optional cable provides downhill control that would be nice. I’ve seen varying opinions on this.

I cannot decide on skis. I have been looking at: Rossignol BC 90, Fischer S-Bound 98, Excursion 88, and Madshus Epoch. I originally settled on the Epochs, but then read that they might not be appropriate for someone in my size range. I like the S Bounds, but they do not receive good reviews in hardback/groomed situations. The Excursions seem to lean more toward groomed trails and less downhill performance. I can find very little about the Rossignols.

Considering my weight, and what I am after in terms of the experience, what suggestions would you all have?

bgregoire
Ski style: Nordic backcountry touring with lots of turns