What alpine skis are people using for telemark?

This is the World Famous TelemarkTalk / TelemarkTips Forum, by far the most dynamic telemark and backcountry skiing discussion board on the world wide web. We have fun here, come on in and be a part of it.
Logancastle

What alpine skis are people using for telemark?

Post by Logancastle » Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:34 am

Hi - I've been telemarking since 1991. I've always used telemark skis. My current pair of 185cm Hagans with black diamond cable bindings are 10 years old. It's time for an upgrade. I can't find any telemark skis in Ontario (where I live) so I'm considering buying some alpine skis. I'm 6 foot, 200 lbs. I ski mainly groomed trials some powder. I want to move from 195cm to a pair of 175cm. Also - should I use shims? Whats the benefit? Should I also consider the new bindings with built in breaks?

Thanks in advance for your input.

Don

Rodbelan
Ski style: Very stylish
Favorite Skis: Splitkein
Favorite boots: Alpina Blaze and my beloved Alpina Sports Jr

Re: What alpine skis are people using for telemark?

Post by Rodbelan » Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:06 pm

Any alpine ski will do...
É y fa ty fret? On é ty ben dun ti cotton waté?
célèbre et ancien chant celtique

telemarkmark

Post by telemarkmark » Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:33 pm

SccottyBob Headrush.... oh that's a Tele Ski (the only ones?)

iBjorn

Post by iBjorn » Tue Mar 20, 2018 4:18 pm

Some ultralight touring and racing skis will be difficult to mount a telemark binding safely on, but apart from that any alpine ski will work.

And I do agree that it might be a good idea to get a new binding also, after 10 years things start to break, and spares for those bindings I think are scarce today.

Rodbelan

Post by Rodbelan » Wed Mar 21, 2018 9:46 am

What kind of binding or which BD binding do you have? 01 (4 hole pattern from 2006), 02 or 03? There is plenty of spares for those, specially 01 & 02

Logancastle

Post by Logancastle » Wed Mar 21, 2018 11:13 am